Skip to the content

Trade Promotion & Marketing Scheme (TPMS) for Exports to Europe 

According to the National Budget 2019/20, the Speed-to-Market Scheme (STMS) has been renamed as “Support for Trade Promotion & Marketing Scheme” (TPMS) which has been extended for an additional year to maintain export competitiveness to Europe with a capping of MUR 10m per company effective as from 1st of April 2019 to 31st March 2020. The Scheme will entail a 40% rebate on Air Freight cost (All-in-prices) to Europe.


The Scheme aims at giving a boost to local exports to European countries and to enhance product delivery in terms of Speed-to-Market for the following eligible products; (1) Textile and Apparel, (2) Jewellery, (3) Medical Devices, (4) Chilled Fish, (5) Fruits, (6) Flowers, (7) Vegetables, (8) Articles of Leather, (9) Footwear, (10) Watches, and (11) Fabric Plush Toys.

Main Provisions

The Scheme will:

  • apply to manufacturing companies in Textile and Apparel, Jewellery, Medical Devices, Articles of Leather, Footwear, Watches, Fabric Plush Toys, and producers/exporters of vegetables, fruits, flowers and chilled fish 
  • be on a 40% refund basis to relevant exporters; except for vegetables, fruits, flowers where payment will be equally shared between the Planter (20%) and the Exporter (20%) 
  • be time-bound for 1 year
  • be operated and managed by the Economic Development Board (EDB) Mauritius
  • be applicable to Exports effected as from 1st April 2019 to 31 March 2020.

1.0 The Scheme will apply for Export to European Countries including UK – Annex 1(Alphabetical list of European Countries)


2.0 Categories of products eligible for rebate:

Products manufactured in Mauritius and exported under (i) Interim Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), (ii) EUR1 certificate of origin, (iii) Generalised System of Preferences (GSP), and any other relevant certificates.


3.0 Amount of Rebate:
40% of Air Freight Cost (All-in-prices) only


4.0 Application for Rebate

4.1 Registration of companies: Companies must register themselves once by filling the REGISTRATION FORM

4.2 Claim for refund: Application for refund has to be submitted in the Prescribed CLAIM FORM to the Economic Development Board Mauritius, 10th Floor, One Cathedral Square Building, 16 Jules Koenig Street, Port Louis together with the following supporting documents:

  1. Copy of Air Waybill (AWB) or House Air Waybill (HAWB);
  2. Copy of Commercial Invoice;
  3. Copy of Export Declaration;
  4. Copy of Packing List
  5. Certified copies of Invoices (with costs breakdown of freight components) & Receipts of payments from Freight Forwarder/Courier Service/ Carrier;
  6. Copy of Certificate of Origin (for Exports under EPA or EUR1 or GSP)
  7. Copy of Gate Pass/Memorandum

*Registration Form and Claim Form can be downloaded here;

4.3 Registration and Claim Forms for exports of Flowers, Fruits, and Vegetables to be submitted to Agricultural Marketing Board, Tel- 4334025, Website:


The Economic Development Board (EDB) Mauritius reserves the right to exercise control post disbursement of fund and in case any fraudulent declaration is detected the following may apply:

1) The company will not be eligible for any future rebate, and

2) Legal action will be undertaken to recover the amount refunded and may be also liable to prosecution.

For any additional details you may contact Mr
Pravin Soburrun on 2033825 or Mrs Reshma Napaul on 2032446


ANNEX 1 - Alphabetical list of countries in Europe

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Armenia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belarus
  7. Belgium
  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Croatia
  11. Cyprus
  12. Czech Republic
  13. Denmark
  14. Estonia
  15. Finland
  16. France
  17. Georgia
  18. Germany
  19. Greece
  20. Hungary
  21. Iceland
  22. Ireland
  23. Italy
  24. Kazakhstan
  25. Kosovo
  26. Latvia
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Lithuania
  29. Luxembourg
  30. Macedonia
  31. Malta
  32. Moldova
  33. Monaco
  34. Montenegro
  35. Netherlands
  36. Norway
  37. Poland
  38. Portugal
  39. Romania
  40. Russia
  41. San Marino
  42. Serbia
  43. Slovakia
  44. Slovenia
  45. Spain
  46. Sweden
  47. Switzerland
  48. Turkey
  49. Ukraine
  50. United Kingdom (UK)
  51. Vatican City